Dual Wielder 5e
Published on June 9, 2023, Last modified on June 12th, 2023
Master two-weapon fighting with the Dual Wielder feat in D&D 5e. Increase your combat versatility, damage potential, and defensive capabilities.
Chris Rahn - Wizards of the Coast - Radha, Heart of Keld
What Is Dual Wielder 5e?
The Dual Wielder feat is an interesting choice for any character looking to increase their offensive capabilities in combat. This feat gives bonuses characters to who are wielding two weapons at the same time, providing more defensive capabilities and allowing more weapons to be considered in your load out.
How Does Dual Wielder Work?
As outlined in the Player’s Handbook, the Dual Wielder feat provides a few key benefits:
- You get +1 to AC when you wield melee weapon in each hand.
- You can use two-weapon fighting even with weapons that don’t have the light property.
- You can draw and stow two one-handed weapons as a free action.
Is Dual Wielder Good?
In our 5e Feats Tier List, Dual Wielder was given a B Tier rating, making it a niche feat that can improve some builds in D&D 5e.
+1 AC halves the disadvantage of taking a second weapon instead of a shield, and being able to use one-handed melee weapons that aren’t “light” enables you to take a longsword or rapier for extra damage.
Unfortunately, the math for this doesn’t quite check out when you compare it to heavy weapon builds using Great Weapon Master. In reality, wielding d8 weapons instead of d6 weapons only nets you two extra damage per turn.
It can also interfere with classes that are bonus action-heavy, as dual wielders really want to be using their bonus action each turn to attack to make the most of the fact that they’re losing 1 AC from not wielding a shield or other class features.
Dual Wielder 5e Interactions
Dual wield (also known as two-weapon fighting) is an intricate subsection of combat that’s relatively rules heavy. The rules of two-weapon fighting in D&D 5e can be found in our offhand attack article.
Can you dual wield without the Dual Wielder feat?
Yes, you can still wield a weapon in each hand if each weapon has the ‘light’ property without the dual wielder feat.
This feat enables you to pick up a rapier or longsword in both hands for 1d8 damage instead of the 1d6 damage a shortsword provides.
You still can’t add your ability modifier to the damage of your offhand attack without the Two-Weapon Fighting Style.
What are the best weapons to dual wield in 5e?
The best weapons to use with the Dual Wielder feat are the longsword and the rapier. Because each of the weapons you use for dual wielding need to be one-handed, the best you’ll get is a d8 damage dice. Which of those weapons you decide to use will depend on your build.
Strength martials will probably want to go for the longsword because it has the versatile property and can be wielding in two hands for a d10 damage dice, in case you drop your second weapon. Dexterity martials, on the other hand, will want to go for the rapier because it allows them to attack with their Dexterity modifier.
Can I wield a greatsword or other heavy weapon with Dual Wielder?
No. Even though the Dual Wielder feat no long restricts you to weapons with the “light” property, they still have to be one-handed.
Does the Dual Wielder feat work with hand crossbows?
No. The Dual Wielder feat specifies melee weapons. If you’re looking to wield a hand crossbow in each hand, check out the Crossbow Expert feat.